Chickpeas and Tomatoes

About a year and a half ago I took a course on Spanish cooking through Universal Class.  The class was great, as I learned a lot about Spanish cooking history, ingredients, and recipes.  The assignments involved making tapas, various dishes, paella, tasting Spanish wine, and the final assignment was to host some family and friends and serve food from the course, with Spanish wine of course.

 

One of my favorite recipes from the course was tomatoes and garbanzos.  The recipe calls for sauteeing the onions with bacon or pancetta, which we did the first time I made it.  During the final project of hosting some friends, one of our guests was a muslim, and so I decided to make the dish without the bacon.  That was in January.  In March I became a vegetarian.  Now when I make the recipe I leave out the bacon and replace chicken broth with vegetable broth.  This was an easy recipe to transform, and it is one of my go to recipes that is so delicious.  

 

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas, drained

1 can Italian tomatoes, drained

½ onion

Several cloves of garlic, minced

(Original recipe) Thick bacon or pancetta

½ cup Vegetable or Chicken broth

1 Tablespoon tomato paste

Herbs or Spices*

Olive Oil

Salt

Pepper   

 

  1. Add oil to medium saucepan.  Add coarsely chopped onion (and pancetta/bacon if you are using), cover, and turn on low heat.  Heat until onion is translucent then added minced garlic and heat until fragrant.  
  2. Raise heat medium low.  Clear a spot on the bottom of the pan and add the tomato paste.  After this sizzles, add the broth.  Bring it to slow boil and then add the chickpeas and tomatoes.  Reduce heat, recover, and cook for about 10 minutes.  
  3. Season with salt, pepper, and herbs/spices of choice.  
  4. Enjoy!

 

*I change this around based on what’s available.  Right now we have a lot of herbs from the garden, so I used some fresh parsley and basil.  In the winter I might use more spices, like some turmeric and cumin. It’s really up to you.    

 

** Sometimes I like this with Kalamata olives and feta.

 

chickpeachick2

Leave a Reply

